Better know a Canadian institution: The Canadian Polar Commission

The Canadian Polar Commission was created by act of Parliament in 1991, and is a function of the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development. It is in charge of overseeing research and scientific expedition in the Arctic, coordinating international polar affairs, and the government’s public relations as they involve the Arctic.

The chairs of the Canadian Polar Commission have been:

Whitney Fraser, 1991-99.
Michael P. Robinson, 1999-2002.
Peter Graham Johnson, 2002-05.
Thomas C. Hutchinson, 2005-10.
Bernard Funston, 2010-14.
Edward G. Lennox, 2014-now.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s